Tuesday morning I will be presenting all of the resources we have available to our staff at one of our first staff meetings.  I am very excited about this as this is the first time I've been given a whole meeting to share all the cool things our district/school offers our staff.  I'm going to be covering on online catalog which is nicknamed PANDA and how to access from home and make their own lists for me to pull for them.  I'm also going to be covering all of the databases we offer.  Three of them are brand new to the district as we went with Gale this time, and bought World Book Kids online.  I'm already in love with this database.  We also have the Gale power search which is equitable to an EBSCO search. The coolest features Gale is offering with their Discover database is having the article read to the student- great for those kids with reading difficulties and English learners.  It also allows them to choose a new language, make their own research file where they can bookmark their own research, and a timeline creator. We also have Culture Grams, a great database for learning about countries.  I love to let the kids choose a country and watch the slide show of it, and it's great for writing a 5 paragraph paper when you use the side bar boxes as paragraph ideas.  We have Discovery- which we all know is an incredible resource offering thousands of videos and quizzes.  Among others are Nettrecker with teacher reviewed websites, and Atomic Learning with it's online tutorials to show teachers how to use about anything they could want from Audacity, to Voicethreads.  Our school also subscribes to Brainpop, Enchanted Learning, and just purchased.... drumroll here.... Tumblebooks.  This resource is AWESOME!!! Kids can read online storybooks, take quizzes, play games based on the books, and even record themselves reading the stories (among other cool features) Gotta love it!

I also plan to share with the staff the highlights of our professional section, and not to be left out, my delicious page which has over 1600 bookmarks on every topic they could ever want to cover.  Lastly I'm going to show them a quick video of all the library has to offer them and examples of how I can collaborate with them.

How I am going to squeeze it all into a half hour or so meeting I don't know- but I've gotta say I'm GIDDY about the opportunity to hopefully get some of my fellow staff members as excited about the resources and HOW they can be used as I am!!!

I will be using these resources for the presentation.   First a Prezi which is my basic outline of what I'm covering.  Here is the link to the Prezi:
http://prezi.com/ni3vxsuqocxb/  In another window I will be using a Jog the Web track that has all of the sites preloaded and in the correct order. The link to that is here: http://www.jogtheweb.com/run/zPdv4IGW1oiA  The last thing I will be sharing is a video about our library.
Now the hardest part.... waiting for Tuesday morning to get here!!
snakejake
9/22/2009 03:14:04 am

HHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIII!!!

Reply
MILEY CIRCOUS
9/22/2009 03:18:18 am

OK JORDAN THAT SOUND COOL I GUESS

Reply
Kia pruit
9/22/2009 03:19:07 am

I think your blog is so cool because it talks about cool books.

Reply
Lola Lofnagle
9/22/2009 03:19:21 am

hi guys wats up?

Reply
Tyler J
9/22/2009 03:19:36 am

yo whats up

Reply
miley circous
9/22/2009 10:53:04 am

whats' up

Reply
lola lofnagle
9/25/2009 08:25:17 am

hey it's LOLA!

Reply
mileycirous
9/27/2009 06:37:03 am

hi lola

Reply
tyrell
3/27/2010 03:29:57 pm

mckelvey is da best school eva

Reply
tyrell
3/27/2010 03:31:24 pm

cool school lolz

Reply
lola lofnagle
4/24/2010 01:22:24 am

wat up peeps in the hisle

Reply
12/10/2010 10:50:27 am

She argues that the cult of positive thinking makes capitalism even more heartless.

Reply
12/21/2010 08:46:14 pm

Thanks for your information !

Reply
7/22/2012 08:05:41 pm

Excellent tips. Really useful stuff .Never had an idea about this, will look for more of such informative posts from your side.. Good job...Keep it up

Reply
7/23/2012 03:55:25 pm

Many thanks for the exciting blog posting! I really enjoyed reading it, you are a brilliant writer. I actually added your blog to my favorites and will look forward for more updates. Great Job, Keep it up.

Reply
8/8/2012 04:19:42 pm

Many thanks for the exciting blog posting! I really enjoyed reading it, you are a brilliant writer. I actually added your blog to my favorites and will look forward for more updates. Great Job,Keep it up..

Reply
8/9/2012 07:04:40 pm

The post is written in very a good manner and it entails much useful information for me. I appreciated what you have done here. I am always searching for informative information like this. Thanks for sharing with us.

Reply
8/11/2012 05:49:03 pm

I think the things you covered through the post are quiet impressive, good job and great efforts.
I found it very interesting and enjoyed reading all of it...keep it up, lovely job.

Reply
8/19/2012 05:02:28 pm

Hi, this is a good post, indeed a great job. You must have done good research for the work, i appreciate your efforts. Looking for more updates from your side. Thanks

Reply
8/26/2012 04:23:39 pm

Many thanks for the exciting blog posting! I really enjoyed reading it, you are a brilliant writer. I actually added your blog to my favorites and will look forward for more updates. Great Job,Keep it up..

Reply



Leave a Reply.

    Kim Wren

    I'm a librarian with a kid. I love to learn new things and playing with tech...

    Archives

    August 2009
    July 2009
    June 2009

    Picture
    Picture
    Bookmark and Share

    Categories

    All
    Professional Development

    RSS Feed